Home > Films, Opinion > 9 Months Late

9 Months Late

On December 18th 2009, The Guardian published this list. Overall, I don’t mind the list. Arbitrary, of course, but ultimately it does no harm. However, I had two real problems with it. The first is that Borat is no. 2 on this list. 2! I’ll accept that it was better than Bruno, but was it the second best film the last ten years? Was it really anywhere near the likes of Wall.E, No Country For Old Men or Let The Right One In? I don’t really understand how it could ever be mentioned in the same breath as these sorts of films.

However, that isn’t my main problem. What I really don’t like is that David Fincher’s Zodiac is only rated as the 100th best film of the decade. Now, it may not be my place to decide these things, but that’s why the internet is awesome. For me, Zodiac was the absolute no. 1 best film of the ‘noughties’. It is, at the risk of sounding like a hyperbole machine, flawless. Think about it; not a single bad performance, a compelling story, and a tone that manages to really capture the 1970s and the feel of investigative classics like All The President’s Men and The Parallax View. Not only was it the best film of the decade, but it’s also the crowning achievement of Fincher’s career so far, somehow eclipsing Fight Club and Se7en – not bad efforts in their own right. I just don’t understand how a team of professionals that I genuinely respect and enjoy the work of could rate a masterpiece like Zodiac so lowly. Not only did I love Zodiac, but it also made me go back and read Robert Graysmith’s publishings on the subject of the Zodiac Killer, it made me go back and watch the classics that it drew inspiration from, and it made me re-assess, and finally appreciate, Fight Club. It inspired me, because it is such an incredible piece of work.

In a lot of ways, I feel sorry for the people who don’t like this film. I think it’s a real shame that they can’t appreciate just how incredible it really is. If I had published the original article, Zodiac would have been my no. 1. In fact, for those of you who are interested, this is my top 10 of 2000-2009:

1 – Zodiac (David Fincher)

2 – Pan’s Labyrinth (Guillermo del Toro)

3 – No Country For Old Men (Ethan and Joel Cohen)

4 – Wall.E (Andrew Stanton)

5 – The Bourne Trilogy (Doug Liman, Paul Greengrass)

6 – Let The Right One In (Tomas Alfredson)

7 – Spirited Away (Hayao Miyazaki)

8 – The Prestige (Chris Nolan)

9 – A History of Violence (David Cronenberg)

10 – The Departed (Martin Scorsese)

Perhaps not the most imaginative list, but those are my picks. Anyway, I will now spend my time fast-forwarding from January to the present day.

  1. craig shaw
    13/09/2010 at 22:48

    well, the departed shouldn’t be on there i don’t think… and prob not the prestige..

    where’s Hidden? Assassination of Jesse James? There will be Blood?

    • 13/09/2010 at 22:55

      I preferred the ones I listed…obviously. Hidden was good, but I didn’t have any sort of emotional reaction to it, whereas I did with the others. Jesse James I thought was very overrated and far too ponderous. There Will Be Blood would be no. 11.

      • craig shaw
        13/09/2010 at 23:00

        firstly: you’re talking shit. personally, The Departed is far more over-rated considering that it won an oscar.

        Secondly: If anything Hidden has the most in common with Zodiac… it’s very documentary without playing for emotional indulgence or trickery. That was the point of Hidden and Zodiac; sober realism.

        Thirdly: You’re a twat… welcome to wordpress.

      • 13/09/2010 at 23:21

        The Departed won the Oscar, but had a lot of criticism. Everyone fucking drooled over Jesse James, but I just didn’t get it. Didn’t like it. Hidden was good, but I don’t see the comparison to Zodiac at all. And if I was going to choose a Haneke film, it would be The White Ribbon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

