Home > Films, Opinion > Total Film’s Greatest Horror Movies Ever Made

Total Film’s Greatest Horror Movies Ever Made

1. The Texas Chain Saw Massacre

2. The Exorcist

3. Psycho

4. The Shining

5. The Thing

6. Halloween

7. Alien

8. Jaws

9. Dawn Of The Dead

10. Suspiria

These are the greatest horror movies ever made, apparently. Now, I am not a great authority on films – if I was, I wouldn’t be writing a shitty blog – but I’ve seen a lot of horror movies, and there is one big problem with this list. The Exorcist. I just don’t get it. Fair enough, I wasn’t around in 1973 to get the full effect of it, but it is not a scary film. And the scary factor should be a big part of deciding what is the second best horror movie ever. Better than Psycho? I don’t think so.

I also have a slight problem with Suspiria. I watched it for the first time about 5 or 6 years ago and was terrified and enthralled by it. Earlier this year, I managed to convince my housemates that we should sit down and watch it together because it was the best horror film ever made. Halfway through, I realised it wasn’t. It was bad. It wasn’t scary, it was slow, and the music/lighting combo seemed really cheesy and outdated. I was very upset by this. However, I have to consider it a good film because of how it made me feel the first time round.

Because I like making lists, I will go all self-indulgent and tell you my personal top 10 horror movies:

  1. Alien (1979, Ridley Scott)
  2. Halloween (1979, John Carpenter)
  3. The Haunting (1963, Robert Wise)
  4. Psycho (1960, Alfred Hitchcock)
  5. Se7en (1995, David Fincher)
  6. Night of the Living Dead (1968, George A Romero)
  7. The Shining (1980, Stanley Kubrick)
  8. Dawn of the Dead (1978, George A Romero)
  9. The Wicker Man (1973, Robin Hardy)
  10. [REC] (2007, Jaume Balaguero, Paco Plaza)

So, there you go. Not that anyone cares.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

